Getting into any kind of auto accident can be stressful. Stress can cause people to make mistakes, and you do not want to make mistakes after a car accident. You want to protect yourself legally and begin building a personal injury case. You need to follow this advice from a New Jersey auto accident lawyer.
Do I Have to Call the Cops After an Auto Accident?
New Jersey state law requires you to call the police to an auto accident scene if anyone was injured or if more than $500 in damage has been caused. We recommend calling the cops even if you do not feel as if you are injured, and we recommend this for a few reasons:
- Having a police report can be helpful if you decide to sue for damages later
- It is actually quite easy to cause $500 in damage, so you want to be in compliance with the law
- You may not notice you are hurt yet due to the adrenaline and stress
So do not make the mistake of not calling the cops.
Should I Talk to the Other Drivers Involved in This Auto Accident?
Keep the chitchat to an absolute minimum. Exchange insurance and contact information, and then wait for the police to arrive. If you talk too much, you could say something that could be used against you. You definitely do not want to say anything like “I’m sorry” or something else that could be interpreted as you taking the blame.
Should I Answer When Insurance Companies Call?
Talking too much to insurers is also a mistake that drivers often make after an accident. Remember, an insurance company wants to get out of this situation for as little money as possible. If you say absolutely anything that could be interpreted as admitting fault, the insurers could try and reduce how much compensation they pay out.
What Do I Need to Document After an Auto Accident?
After a car accident, you need to keep everything. Keep copies of settlement offers, medical bills, and repair estimates for your vehicle. If you missed work, have a copy of your paycheck set aside so that we can figure out how much you are owed in lost wages. The more information you have, the easier it will be to build a case.
Do I Need an Auto Accident Attorney?
Another big mistake people make is thinking that they can pursue compensation all by themselves. Nothing is stopping you from doing this and there is no requirement to hire a lawyer. However, we just cannot recommend going forward with a personal injury case on your own.
Our law firm has plenty of experience handling cases just like yours. We will do everything that we can to build a compelling case and help you fight for the most possible compensation.
Talk to Our Legal Team
If you are ready to learn more about your legal options and the potential value of your case, contact the Law Office of Craig M. Rothenberg. We can schedule a consultation and tell you more about how we can be of assistance.